Dewey’s 24 Hour Read A Thon

readathon-button-from-book-addictSo, I’ve never done a read-a-thon, and I might have to work on Saturday, the day of this particular marathon, but I definitely am planning to give this thing a go. The Dewey’s 24 Read-a-Thon is really just that: a community of people coming together to read as much as they can in 24 hours and supporting each other in those goals. The event happens twice a year, and one can participate by being a reader, a cheerleader, mini-challenge host, hourly co-host, angel, or prize donor.

Yes, there are prizes.

I probably won’t be as organized as many other readers for the event: there seems to be a lot more to it than just diving into your bookshelf as best you can. I do have two personal goals, though. I am currently in the middle of four books – I’d like to finish at least two of them Saturday. My second goal is to finish two shorter novels. Any combination of Nancy Drew books, or novels under 80 pages. It might also be worth it to look into some scholastic articles; although, that would take more preparation than I’ve currently done.
Dog-eyedTonight, after posting this, I plan to make a Goodreads shelf for the “Thon” (is that a thing?); I’ll link it in an update. I will also try to keep you all updated with posts on all my social media: Twitter and Instagram, mainly. Perhaps after, if I get up the moxie, I will do a video wrap-up of my experience.

I don’t have much else to give y’all as far as information, but if you are interested in signing up, here is a link to the FAQ (hit that button above to go directly to the site). Let me know if you do sign up!

Here is my current list of – available to me – readings:

On the Map, Simon Garfield; A Year of Biblical Womanhood, Rachel Held Evans; The Golden Fleece and the Heroes Who Lived Before Achilles, Padriac Colum; Clash of Kings, George R.R. Martin; The Bungalow Mystery, The Mystery at Lilac Inn, The Secret of Shadow Ranch, Carolyn Keene; Saga Chapter One, Brian K. Vaughn and Fiona Staples; The Red Badge of Courage, Stephen Crane. Any more that I add, in say, the next twenty four hours, they will join this list.

Boudicca Sniffing AroundI am by no means trying to finish all of these. This is just a pile of books for me to choose from should I get bored with others. Some of my readings are a bit dryer, so having titles to switch up the pace is extremely helpful. And I should mention that the challenge doesn’t begin at midnight, but that there are set starting times: mine is at 6AM.

Update, as of Friday afternoon: I have added to my list, and had to subtract one book (Clash of Kings) because I could not find it. Here is my updated list, excluding two textbook anthologies that I have made selections from to have some quick, short readings to break up the larger pieces.

Again, I do not plan to read all of these. This list is simply a depository to select from. My ultimate goals are listed above, and I do hope to meet these goals.

The Bungalow Mystery, Carolyn Keene
The Mystery at Lilac Inn, Carolyn Keene
The Secret of Shadow Ranch, Carolyn Keene
The Golden Fleece, Padriac Colum
A Year of Biblical Womanhood, Rachel Held Evans
On the Map, Simon Garfield
Saga: Volume 1, Brian K. Vaughn and Fiona Staples
Fables: Legends in Exile, Willingham, Medina, Leialoha, Hamilton
Fairest In All the Land, Bill Willingham
The Wicked and The Divine, Gillen McKelvie and Wilson Cowles
The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa and Robert Hack
Sherlock Holmes v. Harry Houdini, Del Col, McCreery, Furuzono

 

2 thoughts on “Dewey’s 24 Hour Read A Thon

Leave a Reply

